quran-logo

This is one of the best explanations of why

God allows pain and suffering that I have

seen…

att153266


A man went to a barbershop to have his hair

cut and his beard trimmed.


As the barber began to work, they began to

have a good conversation.


They talked about so many things and various

subjects.


When they eventually touched on the subject of

God, the barber said:


“I don’t believe that God exists.”

att153267


“Why do you say that?” asked the customer.


“Well, you just have to go out in the street to

realize that God doesn’t exist.


Tell me, if God exists, would there be so

many sick people?


Would there be abandoned children?


If God existed, there would be neither

suffering nor pain.

I can’t imagine a loving God who would allow

all of these things.”

att153268


The customer thought for a moment, but

didn’t respond because he didn’t want to start

an argument.


The barber finished his job and the customer

left the shop.

att153269


Just after he left the barbershop, he saw a

man in the street with long, stringy, dirty hair

and an untrimmed beard.


He looked dirty and unkempt. The customer

turned back and entered the barber shop

again and he said to the barber:


“You know what? Barbers do not exist.”


“How can you say that?” asked the surprised barber.


“I am here, and I am a barber. And I just

worked on you!”

att153270


“No!” the customer exclaimed. “Barbers don’t

exist because if they did, there would be no

people with dirty long hair and untrimmed

beards, like that man outside.”

“Ah, but barbers DO exist! That’s what

happens when people do not come to me.”


“Exactly!” affirmed the customer. “That’s the

point! God, too, DOES exist!


That’s what happens when people do not go to

Him and don’t look to Him for help.


That’s why there’s so much pain and suffering

in the world.”

att153271



If you think God exists, send this to other

people—


If you think God does not exist, delete it!

att153272


BE BLESSED & BE A BLESSING

TO OTHERS !!!!!!!

—00000—

I received an e-mail from Sdr Syed Akbar Ali on 8th January ’09 with a request to join him on a Quest for Peace, aptly named “LET’S READ THE QURAN”, which is an initiative cobbled together with Marina Mahathir, Anas Zubedy and one of my favorite blogger-mate, Walski.

As you may have noticed, I’ve been pretty busy lately posting up the ‘KT by-election’ series and although I’m aware that the launch date for ‘LRTQ’ was scheduled for 15th January ’09 and will run for a month upto 14th February (hey, whaddaya know, it’s V-Day), the sopo stuff got me bogged down.

Until I recalled having received another e-mail (shown above, in all its ‘many colors’ glory) on 12th January ’09 from someone very dear to my heart named Farida who is never short on words that will inspire the humanity in all of us to burst forth. If only, we will allow it to happen, but with God’s grace, it can.

Thank you, Farida. God answered your prayers and mine too, in a way.

*And yes, God, I can honestly say that I had my haircut today. That was your way of reminding me to do this posting, wasn’t it*

(BSR = Blogger’s Social Responsibility)